Alone in the Crowd

It was a crowded Saturday afternoon and I found myself alone at Arteastiq, a tea cafe in Mandarin Gallery I’ve been wanting to check out for a while. I’d arranged to meet three old friends there, but they have a notorious habit of being late, so I went straight down to ordering a Genmaicha and winding down on my own. What I really like about Arteastiq (besides being really pretty, check out those birdcages!) is that even though it was crowded, there’s still this sense of space and privacy within each table. No such thing as accidental eavesdropping and even the chatty groups didn’t sound so thunderous as they might in other cafes.

There are times when I get really restless and ticked off if I have to wait around alone (punctuality has been pummelled into me by a mother-who-should-have-been-German) but this time, I was not. There have been times where I have been so annoyed with my three tardy friends that I would threaten to leave before they even got there. But that afternoon, I came to the conclusion there’s NOTHING I can do to speed up their arrival. They will simply arrive when they arrive, so help me God. In the meantime, I sipped my tea slowly, scribbled random thoughts and observations in my notebook, and wondered  if I should get a flowery teapot like that some day (see above).

In the end, the first friend came 30 minutes late, the 2nd friend came an hour late while the last friend 1.5 hours late. It actually worked out as I had a chance to catch up with the 30-minute-late friend one-on-one and I really appreciated that heart-to-heart conversation which I’d been hoping to have with her for the longest time.

The morale of the story: Drink tea to avoid getting unnecessarily agitated. Things will fall into place somehow.

Arteastiq
Mandarin Gallery, #04-14/15
333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867
Tel: 6235 8370
Opens: 11:00 am-10:30 pm daily

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pekoechen (@MissTeaDelight)
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 02:25:36

    Tea always makes for better company than late people ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

