5 best Chinese teahouses in the city

Something I wrote for inSing.com. I felt a little sad that I struggled to find five teahouses to feature…there needs to be more tea spots in Singapore!

You can read the full article here.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chengyu
    Apr 16, 2014 @ 19:33:40

    Hi Sir/ Madam!

    I’m a student from Victoria Junior College and I’m doing a project of the influence of Chinese tea ceremony as an intangible cultural heritage on Chinese people in Singapore. I really love Chinese tea culture and I think it is an important part of Chinese heritage. But sadly it seems that nowadays not many people are interested in it anymore. Many of them just use tea sachets and when I talk about green tea, they always first think about Japanese one! I feel so frustrated so I want to get more people interested in Chinese tea culture and learn to appreciate the beauty of tea ceremony. In order for my project to carry on. I need to gather opinions from professionals like you. So can you help me by answering the following questions?

    1. Do you think that Chinese tea culture is an important part of Chinese culture and why?
    2. How do you feel about people’s attitude towards tea appreciation nowadays?
    3. Do you think it would be a good idea for HDB RC to organize a small tea appreciation session after Chinese holiday celebration(like Spring festival, Mid-autumn Festival)?

    Thank you for your time and I genuinely hope that this precious heritage can be passed on forever.

    Best regards,
    Chengyu

    Reply

    • mel
      Apr 16, 2014 @ 21:06:59

      Hi Chengyu,

      Here are my answers:
      a) Yes. There’s so much history behind this drink. China itself has so many varieties of teas as well. (Incidentally Japanese tea came from “old” Chinese tea practices!)
      b) They think it’s boring when the Chinese tea ceremony is actually a very calming ritual (and your tea tastes so much better when prepared slowly).
      c) Yes!. I think some do it already don’t they?

      Reply

  2. Chengyu
    Apr 16, 2014 @ 19:34:22

    Sorry just notice it’s lady haha~Thx(:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

