Tea Loves: Satsuki Shibuya


Image courtesy of Kevin Thoeng

When I first met Suki, an insanely talented designer based in Los Angeles, I was struck by her bubbliness and quirky curiosity about life. Subsequently, as FB and Twitter friends, I always felt chirpier after reading her optimistic, philosophical updates. To me, she balances thought and action so well. And with all these wise ruminations and meticulous records of her work processes, I’ve noticed that drinking tea is always somewhere in the picture. Suki is an awesome embodiment of a chill tea drinker, so I am super stoked she agreed to be featured on this blog!

Satsuki Shibuya
Textile & Product Designer / Crafter / Life Aficionado 

What’s your tea habit?

I drink, on average, a cup of tea a day and love it most in the mornings while enjoying some toast with fresh fruit spread, especially fig. Yum.

What are your favourite teas?

Organic chamomile, organic peppermint, ginger/peach (from The Republic of Tea), lemon/honey.

Describe your most memorable “tea moment”. 

Every moment while drinking a cup of tea is memorable. It allows me to catch my breath during a busy spell or give me a chance to reflect upon the day ahead and gather my thoughts. It is my resting place.

How has your love of tea inspired your satsuki shibuya (formerly known as zakka nouveau) range of homemade accessories?

Being a homebody at heart, I love surrounding myself with things that conjure up a sense of coziness. For myself, I tend to feel this sense of ‘home’ when I have items created by organic materials (i.e. wood/cotton/linen) and naturally flowed towards wanting to designing interior goods/everyday items when starting up my company. Tea is an integral part of this sense of ‘home’ for me as it relaxes my soul and allows me to open my thoughts for new discoveries.

Tea goes best with

…the morning sun shining through the kitchen window & anything sweet.

Tea is…

…a moment of reflection & revelation. Allow yourself to be engulfed by the smell and warmth that it shares as it will open you up to a deeper connection with your everyday happenings.

Incidentally, here are some of Suki’s delightful tea-related accessories which I love:circus collection: coasters

sugar pie: sweets mat

sky puffs: tea towel

Product images courtesy of Satsuki Shibuya

To view more gorgeous Satsuki Shibuya products, please visit her etsy store.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: satsuki shibuya x tea lady mel « zakka nouveau
  2. jennifer young
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 12:40:55

    suki is such an inspiration in my life! great feature!
    j.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

