Tea Loves: Damyanti Ghosh

I love drinking tea and writing with my tea lovin’ friend, Damyanti, an amazing storyteller and imaginative soul who has brought me much peace and inspiration during our interactions.

How often do you drink tea?
I drink tea anywhere between 2 to 5 times a day. Mostly in the mornings and afternoons, but also before bedtime.

What are your favourite teas?
I like green tea of all kinds. Also, Oolong, Pu-erh, Chamomile, Chrysanthemum.

What teas go with what books and why?  
I’ve read all kinds of books with all kinds of teas, but I think Fantasy goes best with Chamomile (I feel soothed), Literary books go best with Oolong or Pu-erh (these teas energise me) and Mysteries/ Historicals and other genres go best with flavored teas (they’re undemanding). But this is just me. Tea preferences are very subjective, just like books and genres.

How has your love of tea inspired your writing?
My love of tea has led me to often use it as a pause between writing sessions, when I gather myself for the next burst, to sort through a knot in the plot, or find just the right words for the images in my head. I would call tea my friend, but not my inspiration.

Tea goes best with…
…itself when I’m alone. For me, it encourages rumination. Sipping tea does not interfere with the trance in my head. Munching something with it does. I make an exception to this when I have tea with family and friends, because then, something sweet and savoury to munch encourages conversation, the give-and-take of words and ideas.

Tea is…
…a cup of warmth between my palms. Much like the books I read, and the notebooks and pens I carry with me at all times, tea for me is an unfailing friend.

Damyanti is an established writer for magazines and journals. Her short fiction has been published in the Quarterly Literary Review SingaporeMuse India and in print anthologies by Marshall CavendishMonsoon Books, and MPH publications. Her book, A to Z Stories of Life and Death, is available for download on Kindle and Smashwords.  Chat her up on Twitter @damyantig, or visit her blog to drop her a line.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Do You Dreamstorm Your Writing? | Daily (w)rite
  2. Miss Tea Delight (@MissTeaDelight)
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 00:12:10

    From her comments, i can see one serious tea drinker.

    Reply

  3. MPax
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 00:32:02

    Tea is wonderful. I always fill my thermos with hot tea to go out stargazing. A cup of licorice root did wonders for me last night.

    Reply

  4. servicefromheart
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 16:08:26

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Reading, Writing, Dreamstorming – Daily (w)rite

Leave a Reply

